Thursday, September 25, 2014

Crows-An-Wra - Kalopsia

01. Kalopsia
02. Perseus
03. Vibrant Colours
04. Constraint In Secrets
05. Dismay! The Seconds Slow
06. Heavy Heads (I)
07. Blossom (II)
08. Ataraxia
09. This Will Soon Be Forgotten

After turning many heads last year with the release of their self-titled EP, Cornwall quartet Crows-An-Wra have dropped 'Kalopsia', their debut full-length, through Barely Regal, Wolf Town DIY and Boslevan Records. Spanning around half an hour, the albums nine songs are each bursting with bright tones and warped melodies that will get stuck in your head easily. No matter how manic and energetic their performances sound, it's clear that a lot of methodical thinking has gone into writing this and that's why it stands out as one of the most memorable screamo/punk records I've heard so far this year. If you're in the market for something unusual and progressive then you can't go wrong here!

Reviewed by Woody.

[ download ] [ buy ]

1 comment :