Thursday, August 14, 2014

Prawn - Kingfisher

01. Scud Running
02. First As Tragedy, Second As Farce
03. Prolonged Exposure
04. Dialect Of...
05. Old Souls
06. Glass, Irony
07. Absurd Walls
08. Thalassa
09. Runner's Body
10. Halcyon Days

Prawn are a four piece emo/indie rock band from Ridgewood, Hawthorne, and Saddle Brook, New Jesrey who formed in 2007. Prawn play an infectious blend of emo and indie rock, with occasional nods to post rock. Prawn's influences are vaired but relatively easy to pinpoint. The band mixes elements of early 90's midwestern emo influenced by bands such as Mineral, Boy's Life, and Christie Front Drive with later era bands such as Casket Lottery, Able Baker Fox, and possibly Elliot within their sound. Prawn takes these sounds and modernizes them to create an amazing sound that's undeniably unique. 'Kingfisher' is the band's latest full-length LP, which is the band's first full-length release since 2012's Ships LP. On 'Kingfisher', Prawn has added an atmospheric slant to their sound which also adds a layer of complexity that wasn't present with their last LP. The band still retains their guitar crunch and melancholy vocals, which results in a really impressive listen. Overall, 'Kingfisher' is an absolute must listen for fans of Minus The Bear, The Appleseed Cast, and Weatherbox. Highly recommended! Kingfisher was released via Topshelf records on August 12th, 2014.

Reviewed by Chris.

[ download ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment