Monday, August 25, 2014

Mont-Doré - Escalades

01. Easier Afterwards
02. Please Do Not Die Again
03. Inner-Schism
04. Choristes
05. Et Métérorites
06. No Place Like Home

Belgium five-piece Mont-Doré was a band I hadn't listened to before so when going into this new 6 track EP of theirs I wasn't too sure of what to expect, but I found myself to be pleasantly surprised. The slow, solemn opening guitar to 'Easier Afterwards' acts as the calm before the storm and adds an eerie atmosphere. Later in the song the band erupt into aggressive, unrelenting downpour of wrought guitars, crashing drums and throat-scathing vocals. There's definitely an essence of punk and post-hardcore present amongst the doomy screamo on offer here that brings bands like Calvaiire to mind at points. 'Escalades' is a dark, heavy and punishing collection of songs that are as well written as they are performed that’s both technical and abrasive.

Reviewed by Woody.

[ download ] [ buy ] [ buy ]

1 comment :