Sunday, December 8, 2013

Todos Caerán - Town Of Cats

01. Norwegian Wood
02. South Of The Border, West Of The Sun
03. Underground
04. IQ84
05. Kafka On The Shore
06. Sputnik Sweetheart

Todos Caerán is a five piece band from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada who formed in 2010. I've really enjoyed watching this band progress and evolve over the past few years, making them one of the most respected and unique bands in the current post hardcore/screamo scene. Since their inception in 2010, Todos Caerán have released a five song self titled cassette on Bart Records in 2010, a split 10" with Bears in 2011, a four way split with Lizards Have Personalities, ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio!, and Book Of Caverns in 2011, a split 7" with Gumilinski in 2011, a five song LP entitled After Dark in 2011, a split 10" with Mahria in 2011, a four way split LP with Polina, Bonehouse, and Kadish in early 2013, and a split LP with Tel Fyr in June Of 2013. Todos Caerán play a killer style of screamo tinged post hardcore influenced by bands such as Portraits Of Past, Funeral Diner, City Of Caterpillar, Fugazi, Daitro, Moss Icon, Suis La Lune, Zann, Native Nod, ...Who Calls So Loud, and Fall Of Efrafa. 'Town Of Cats' is the band's latest six song LP, which is set for release via Dog Knights Productions on December 15th, 2013. This latest LP is Todos Caerán's most ambitious release to date. These six songs are a perfect showcase for the band's continued evolution. The biggest change in the band's sound is that they have included an atmospheric, dark, and dynamic post rock element to their sound, which was only hinted at in their previous releases. The end result is six songs of intensely dark and atmospheric screamo tinged post hardcore. Calling this album phenomenal would only be a starting point in describing how good this album is. All I can say is that it's a good thing I haven't begun compiling my best of year end lists yet. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by Chris.

[ download ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment