Thursday, December 12, 2013

Cassus - ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! Split

01. Cassus - Trilogy 1: Ostrich Hearts
02. Cassus - Trilogy 2: A Thousand Tiny Explosions Of Glitter
03. Cassus - Trilogy 3: All We'll Ever Need
04. ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! - Ser Humano
05. ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! - Il Est Bien Vengé Aka Miguel
06. ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! - Potentia Absoluta Dei (Unclean Version)
07. ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! - Outro-Pitsa Party

Cassus offer up listeners three ripping songs on their side of this split with ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio!. The songs are conveniently titled as a successive trilogy, and in a way it seems like they almost flow into each other. The first two songs, each about 45 seconds in length, fly by so fast that it's possible to think that they are separate movements within the same song. This is a form of screamo/hardcore that pays homage to some of the spastic greats, in some moments bringing to mind the likes of pg. 99 and Orchid. 'Trilogy 3: All We’ll Ever Need' is the longest song on in the batch, and deservedly so. After the initial blasting, the intensity gives way to a gentle riff that weaves for a minute or so before exploding back into thick chaos that slows and intensifies as it goes along until reaching its pained sounding vocal end. Parts of the ¡Silencio, Ahora, Silencio! side of this split almost veer into a powerviolence direction, but before the music becomes too garbled, the instruments lock into a solid mid tempo groove that breathes a little more and leaves room for the dual vocals to shine. The strengths of these songs lie heavily in the dynamic shifts - blasting drums quickly dissolve into grooving open passages and back again with skill. The outro is a playful instrumental that starts out on a danceable groove before crumbling into feedback soaked noise. Overall a really cool split.

Reviewed by Justin.

[ download ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment