Monday, May 13, 2013

Gillian Carter - Lost Ships Sinking With The Sunset

01. Recently...
02. Dissertation #1 (Trapped)
03. Thesis Statement
04. Waking Up (Lost Ships)
05. Time (All That Is Left Is Fading)
06. I've Been Forgotten And So Have You
07. Sinking With The Sunset
08. Spring Song

Gillian Carter is a four piece band from Palm Bay, Florida who formed in 2005. Since their inception, Gillian Carter has released a prolific amount of material on various labels including Dog Knights Productions, Explosion!, Rabbit Foot, Middle-Man, Rabble With Out A Cause, and Die Young Records. Gillian Carter's discography includes two full length LPs, and two splits with Ghost Aviary, Sam Kuhns, as well as a three way split with Henrietta and Echo Base 3. 'Loose Ships Sinking In The Sun' is the band's latest eight song 10" which is slated for physical release via Dog Knights Productions and Middle Man Records this upcoming June. Musically, Gillian Carter play a tense, discordant, and angular style of music that incorporates elements of hardcore, punk, and screamo within their sound. 'Loose Ships Sinking In The Sun' is my first exposure to the band, and let me just say that I have been truly missing out on these guys. Gillian Carter mine a similar territory as bands such as Loma Prieta, Weak Teeth, Todos Caerán, and We Were Skeletons. Overall, this is a phenomenal 10" and Gillian Carter offer up eight songs of discordant, engaging, and at times chaotic sounding music. Enjoy!

Reviewed by Chris.

[ download ] [ buy ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment