Saturday, May 4, 2013

Caravels - Lacuna

01. Lacuna
02. Tangled
03. Having Had & Lost Some Infinite Thing
04. New Zealand
05. Hundred Years
06. Twin
07. Hanging Off
08. Sleep Talk
09. Ordinary Lives
10. Dog Days

Caravels is a five-piece band from Las Vegas, Nevada, who formed in May of 2006. Caravels play an interesting mix of post-hardcore, 90's screamo, and indie/emo. I've been hooked on this band since I heard them back in 2010. Since their inception, the band released a six song EP entitled 'Floorboards' in 2010, a two song self-titled 7" in 2011 and a split LP with Gifts From Enola. 'Lacuna' is the band's debut ten song LP, released via Topshelf Records on March 26th, 2013. For the uninitiated, Caravels play a great style of music that's brooding, atmospheric, heavy, and at the same time soaring, bordering on the melodic at times. Musically, Caravels share a common thread with bands like La Dispute, Defeater, and Pianos Become The Teeth, but with an identity that's all their own. Overall, 'Lacuna' makes for an incredible listen. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by Chris.

[ download ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment