Monday, December 31, 2012

Free Throw - Free Throw

01. A Wild Pidgey Appeared
02. Lvl. 2 Pidgey In A Masterball
03. My High
04. My Low
05. An Hour Pissed
06. Gersberms!

Free Throw is a five piece band hailing from Nashville, TN, and their self titled EP is short but most definitely sweet, with six songs sandwiched comfortably between two related movie clips. Musically Free Throw draws from the recently popular emo throwback canon, mixing the energy of newer bands like You Blew It! with the nimble yet powerful riffs of bands like Braid or early Polar Bear Club. The vocals aren't entirely expected, forgoing the predictable out of tune yelp associated with recent emo for a sometimes gruff, sometimes polished vocal approach that also embraces the Polar Bear Club influence. All in all, a very clean and solid EP worth checking out for fans of emo mixed with chunky early 2000's punk.

Reviewed by Justin.

[ download ]

1 comment :

  1. Their newer songs that they're playing now are even better! Glad this band is taking off.