Thursday, September 20, 2012

Sprewelled - Thirteen Urgent Essays

01. Enough Reuters Around For Days
02. Still
03. Pretty Good On Your Feet
04. TVP-830
05. Crude Handles
06. Who Found Their Way Back
07. Yet Another Sinew
08. Hayside Luhv
09. Lila
10. A Division Of Labor
11. F. N. J.
12. Acid, Hell, Bad
13. The Curse Of Experimentation

Again a lesser-known band. Sprewelled is a four-piece punk/post-hardcore band from Austin, Texas, US. They started playing together around winter 2011 and 'Thirteen Urgent Essays' is their full-length, which was released in July 2012. The influences section on their facebook contains bands like Sonic Youth, Fugazi, Queens Of The Stone Age, Primus and Drive Like Jehu, so if you like these bands, you should immediately check Sprewelled out!

Reviewed by Adam.

Even if their debut LP is out for a couple of months, not so many people have heard of these guys. This 4-piece band from Austin released a really lo-fi punk record with some elements from modern screamo. Even if their lyrics sound desperate, their music is kind of uplifting and fast, most of the time. The fact that this album is self recorded/produces/mixed didn’t bother me at all because it seems like its supposed to be that way. Many guitar parts may remind you of some early ‘00s post-hardcore stuff. Finally you can see that a lot of work has been put in this record. The only negative part is that you probably won’t enjoy the whole record at once; it may have to take time to grow on you. Also, some of you may find disturbing the fact that they don’t play a specific music genre. I’m usually not a fan of fast music changes in the same lp, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. Also the 'How I Met Your Mother' samples are hilarious; that was the point, right?

Reviewed by Thanos.

[ download ]


  1. this is fuckin awesome

  2. Most songs sound like Hot Snakes which I find interesting, Hayside Luhv kills though. Is this all this band has?