Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Carson Wells - Wonderkid

01. Soul And Sword
02. Slim Charles
03. A Great Weight
04. Ten
05. Killing Me Won't Bring Back Your Goddamn Honey
06. Three Months In Canada
07. Don't Forget The Super 8
08. 2007
09. Home

Carson Wells is a three-piece band from Aberdeen, Scotland. Hard to categorize their music, they play emo, punk, post-hardcore, math-rock, indie(?). I don't know, but I like this band, this album and definitely recommend to you. 'Wonderkid' will be released on 12" LP by Art For Blind Records, Black Lake Records, Cross Your Heart And Hope To DIY and Eat A Book Records.

Reviewed by Adam.

Carson Wells is a three-piece band from Aberdeen, Scotland who formed in 2009. Carson Wells play a hard to catagorize and describe style of music that incorporates elements of post punk, math rock, punk, emo, and screamo into their sound. Carson Wells' influences are varied and come from a variety of sources. On the one hand, I hear elements of 80's and 90's DC style bands such as Rites Of Spring, Fugazi, as well as a Canadian influence by bands such as Shotmaker and North Of America. The influences don't stop there. I pick up hints of math and indie rock from bands such as Q And Not U as well as more straight forward screamo/post punk played by bands such as Bailer, List, and At What Price Wonderland? Overall, these combination of sounds make for a really dynamic listen. Wonderkid is Carson Well's debut LP and features nine new songs that are tense, off-kilter, and discordant with hints of melody that serve as a great undercurrent for the band's sound. Add a little Drive Like Jehu in the bass department, and you're left with an amazing listen. My first taste of Carson Wells was on their self titled EP released via Art For Blind in 2010. These new songs build on the foundation the band laid on their first EP and totally expand on that sound in a unique and creative way. Overall, Wonderkid makes for a great listen. Highly recommended! Enjoy! Also hit up the band's bandcamp page. You can get their self-titled EP there as a free download.

Reviewed by Chris.

[ download ] [ buy ] [ buy ]

No comments :

Post a Comment